top of page

Department of Health and Social Care

The Rt Hon Steve Barclay MP

Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

  • Overall financial control and oversight of NHS delivery and performance

  • Oversight of social care policy

Will Quince-photo-square-small.jpg
Will Quince MP

Minister of State for Health and Secondary Care

  • NHS secondary care: elective care recovery, hospital reconfigurations, special measures regime

  • Major diseases: cancer, diabetes, stroke

  • Rare diseases

  • Screening

  • Long-term conditions

  • NHS workforce: recruitment and retention, supply, education and training, leadership, pay and pensions, overall lead for industrial relations

  • Research: National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR), genomics, genetics and regenerative medicine, clinical trials

  • Life sciences

  • Medicines and medicines regulation: pharmaceutical price regulation schemes, uptake of new drugs, medical technology, medicines supply, medicinal cannabis, antivirals and therapeutics

  • International, devolved administrations, Crown dependencies and overseas territories

  • Sponsorship of: NHS Business Services Authority (NHSBSA), National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA), Health Research Authority (HRA)

Helen Whately MP

Minister for Social Care

  • Adult social care: workforce, system assurance and data, tech and innovation, funding, markets, winter planning, safeguarding and liberty protection safeguards

  • Urgent and emergency care, including ambulances

  • Hospital discharge

  • Integration

  • Continuing healthcare

  • Community health services: virtual wards, intermediate care, audiology, social prescribing

  • Dementia

  • End of life and palliative care

  • COVID-19 vaccine licensing

  • Work and health

Neil O'Brien-photo-square-small.jpg
Neil O'Brien MP

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Primary Care and Public Health)

  • Primary care: general practice, pharmacy, eye care, backlogs, workforce, 50 million GP appointments, dentistry, prescription charges

  • Blood, transplant and organs

  • Office for Health Improvement and Disparities (OHID): tobacco, obesity, alcohol, drugs and addiction, NHS Health Check and screening, children’s health and Start for Life, sexual health, health disparities, levelling up

  • Essex Mental Health Independent Inquiry

  • Sponsorship of: NHS Blood and Transplant (NHSBT), Food Standards Agency (FSA)

Maria Caulfield-photo-square-small.jpg
Maria Caulfield MP

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Mental Health and Women’s Health Strategy), also Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Women)

  • Women’s health

  • Maternity services

  • Gender identity services

  • Cosmetic regulation

  • DHSC litigation

  • Mental health: children and young people and early intervention, Mental Health Act, suicide prevention and crisis prevention, bereavement, disabilities (including autism), offender health

  • Patient safety: clinical negligence, historic inquiries, quality regulation, death certification, indemnity, Patient Safety Commissioner

  • Vaccine Damage Payment Scheme

  • Patient experience: ombudsman and complaints, whistleblowing and health ethics

  • UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA): COVID-19 (COVID-19 status certification, variant tracing and shielding), environmental health (air quality, chemicals and radiation), health security at the border, infectious diseases (including mpox), seasonal flu

  • Vaccines: COVID-19 vaccine deployment and uptake, routine immunisations and vaccinations

  • Long COVID

  • Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) and global health security

  • Emergency preparedness, including Ukraine

  • Sponsorship of: Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch (HSIB), Care Quality Commission (CQC), NHS Resolution, Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA), Human Tissue Authority (HTA), UKHSA

Robert Jenrick-photo-square-small.jpg
Lord Markham CBE

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the Lords)

  • NHS capital, land and estates: New Hospital Programme and hospital upgrades, reinforced autoclaved aerated concrete (RAAC), energy resilience and Net Zero Strategy, car parking

  • Data and technology: NHS IT and data to support innovation, security management and cyber security, Federated Data Platform

  • Departmental management and business

  • Lead statutory instrument (SI) minister, including retained EU laws

  • NHS finance: procurement, cost recovery and immigration health surcharge, counter fraud

  • Lords’ business

  • Sponsorship of: NHS England, NHS Counter Fraud Authority, NHS Property Services

bottom of page